About Us

Our mission is to give youth the opportunity to learn technology concepts, and leadership skills; creating a pipeline of future-ready professionals through project-based learning and innovative programs.

We're an initiative that serves the urban core of Kansas City, exposing youth to various computer science concepts.

Every child, no matter their zip code or their family’s financial status, should have the opportunity to learn to code.

Our Mission

Our mission is to give youth the opportunity to learn technology concepts, and leadership skills.
We're creating a pipeline of future-ready professionals through project-based learning and innovative programs.



Tammy Buckner | Founder & CEO

Tammy Buckner is the Founder & CTO of Techquity Digital LLC, a minority and women-owned technology solutions company specializing in innovative software & application development, Dev/Ops & business analytics to automate and improve business processes. As a successful serial entrepreneur, she also co-founded WeCode KC as a means to share her considerable educational and technology experience with young people in underrepresented communities. Tammy maintains strong connections with educators, business owners, schools, and community centers to provide conferences, community tech events, and facilitate workshops.

Nicole Urban | Program Director

Nicole Urban, PMP, MBA, CSPO brings over 25 years of project management experience from the utility, construction and IT industries. Nicole has been part of the WeCode program since November 2018, first serving as a volunteer project manager and program coordinator before advancing to her current role as the Program Director. As a supporter of all things tech and a strong advocate for tech education for youth, Nicole leads by example by holding her Professional Project Management certification through the Project Management Institute, a Masters of Business Administration degree from Rasmussen University, and a Certified Scrum Product Owner certification through Scrum Alliance. Nicole is committed to ensuring the strategies for all of WeCode's programs and initiatives are developed, implemented, executed for the achievement of our organizational goals. In her spare time, Nicole is also a serial entrepreneur and owner of 3 small businesses.

Adrienne Story | Executive Administrative Assistant

Adrienne is a professional Executive Administrative Coordination Manager with over 11 years of experience in customer service, C-Level Executive support, and HR coordination. Her people-focused attitude paired with her strong relational skills help create and sustain positive client relations.

Ben Richardson | Program Director

Ben is an engineer and entrepreneur with 16 years as a business owner, 13 years in the electrical utility industry, and 5 years in STEAM education. He graduated from Prairie View A&M University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering and from Park University with a Master of Business Administration degree with a focus on Computer Network & Security. His analytical and problem-solving skills are transferable amongst and variety of fields of knowledge from music to coding. He is coined as being a modern-day renaissance man.

Claude Hawkins | IT/Asset Manager

Claude Hawkins is a seasoned IT asset management professional with a proven track record of optimizing IT assets for efficiency and cost-effectiveness. He excels in the complete lifecycle management of assets, from procurement to retirement. Claude's expertise lies in developing strategies aligned with organizational goals, negotiating vendor contracts, and ensuring compliance with licensing agreements. He leverages data analysis and industry trends to make informed technology investment decisions. Claude's proficiency in asset management tools, strong communication skills, and commitment to continuous learning make him a valuable asset for enhancing IT infrastructure and driving organizational growth.


Kimberly Bryant | Interim Board Chair

Brandon Calloway | Board Member

David Mitchell | Board Member

Angelique Nedved | Board Member

April Boyd-Noronha | Board Member

Ryan Reed | Board Member

Robert Rogers | Board Member

Rochelle Walker | Board Member